Reconnecting with Nature

Lately, I’ve been feeling a bit disconnected from nature.

It seems like I’m always on my phone, scrolling through social media, absorbing the latest news (which never seems to be positive), and spending more and more time indoors surrounded by the same four walls. But today I felt inspired to break away from it all and just have a good old-fashioned day spent outdoors, reconnecting with nature.

Fortunately, it was the perfect day for an adventure: the warm sun was shining and there wasn’t a single cloud in the brilliant blue sky. 

I ventured in the car for just a few miles out of the bustling city centre, in hope to escape the urban environment that I’ve become so familiar with over the years. 

Of course, no adventure could commence without my trusty companion, Fyrne! 

After a short walk along the public footpath, over a railway line, and across some country fields, we found ourselves at the gateway of one of our favourite woodland walks. 

Yes, this wasn’t our first time here – it was a route I knew well and a place that we’ve both thoroughly enjoyed in the past. I wondered to myself why I hadn’t returned for such a long time… 

Upon first glance, it would appear that our adventure may have been cut short; a large tree had fallen and blocked access to the bridge and scuppered my plans, or so I thought. 

A quick inspection discovered a passage to the other side, just around the tree. At this point, it reminded me of the old childhood classic ‘We’re Going on a Bear Hunt’…

I can’t go over it,

I can’t go under it,

Got to go around it!

Without further ado, the journey began as we crossed the bridge over the river, through the kissing gate, and into the woodland.

The path was well trodden and easy to navigate, besides the odd tree root that had to be dodged. Fallen leaves crunched beneath with every footstep, and the sound of birdsong filled my ears with delight. The recent dry weather allowed a stable footing, so I didn’t have to worry about slipping and squelching through wet mud which I’ve definitely become accustomed to with my time spent living in Cumbria! 

I walked for about an hour, getting lost in my own thoughts as Fyrne explored the surroundings, investigating every possible scent there was to find. She checked in with me every minute or so, either to make sure I was still there or to grab a treat from my hand (the latter sounds more likely, don’t you think?!). 

Stopping to look at the rhododendrons that were taking over the banks to the side of me, I stood in silence, listening to the woodpecker in the distance and the refreshing melodies that the birds were singing above me. 

I had almost forgotten how much I enjoyed walking in nature. It’s so calming and restorative. 

Surprisingly, we hadn’t met anyone on our walk. I had met more people here on a cold Christmas morning two years ago compared to this wonderfully warm afternoon! 

There was something special about being in the woods, just the two of us, with no one else around.

As we continued walking deeper into the woodland, I noticed more and more wildlife, coming out to greet us on this beautiful day. Birds sang even louder overhead as squirrels scurried across our path. The occasional rustle of a mouse or rabbit in the bushes sparked Fyrne’s curiosity, but besides a few deep sniffs, she left them in peace. 

It was so serene that we both stopped for a moment to take it all in.

Before long we had reached our favourite spot, just off the beaten track – a clearing by a babbling brook. We sat down by the water and enjoyed a drink. I sipped my flask of tea while Fyrne dipped her toes in the river for a good gulp of water, the ripples glistening as they caught the sun’s rays. 

As I sat and admired the beautiful surroundings, I noticed these dense clumps of vibrant green leaves… Ramsons, or wild garlic to you and me. I couldn’t stop myself from plucking a bunch before setting back to the car. 

By this point, Fyrne didn’t have much of a white coat left. Her wet, bedraggled looks from swimming in the stream and fishing for sticks in the river left her looking nothing far from a drowned rat. So much for washing her the other day, eh! 

I’m glad that I made time to connect with nature today – and I feel much better for it, too.

If you’re feeling overwhelmed or stressed out, you should really try it!

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑